1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poor sound quality with Dolby enabled. Devekt or norm?

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by SoundCatcher, Jan 11, 2019 at 3:49 AM.

?

Poor sound quality with Dolby enabled. Devekt or normal?

1. Devekt

100.0%
  2. norm

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I have no problems with sound.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. SoundCatcher

SoundCatcher ASTRO Private

Hello. I recently purchased an astro a50 wireless. I read a lot of accolades about the sound of this headset, it is considered one of the best gaming headsets ever. But I was very surprised when I heard the sound of this headset after receiving it, because it did not meet my expectations and does not correspond to what everyone writes about it in the reviews. I have a lot of game sound experience, i had a lot of various top gaming headsets, such as Turtle Beach PX5, Sony mdr ds7500, Turtle Beach Elite 800, Siberia 800 (have now), each of them had its own advantages and disadvantages, but I didn’t have such a problem in any of them as in astro. I tried to connect the astro through an optical cable to my PS4, as well as to the sound card of my PC (creative x-fi titanium) with dd life enabled, but everywhere the sound was some kind of poor-quality, muffled, unnatural, metallic, like a digital noise, it lacks the bandwidth of the interface. For example, when I compare side by side the sound of fire or waterfall in astro and Siberia 800, then in astro this sound is more like white noise and not like the natural sound of water as it sounds in Siberia 800. I tried various equalizer settings, like ready-made options ( about 20), so I tried to fine-tune the equalizer with my hearing in manual mode, but none of the settings can solve the problem completely, but only masks it a little. The only solution I found is to completely turn off the Dolby surround sound effect on the headphones themsel