1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Astro A50 Gen 3 VS. Turtle Beach 800x

Discussion in 'ASTRO Nexus' started by TheHuman0idTyph00n, Sep 30, 2016.

1. TheHuman0idTyph00n

TheHuman0idTyph00n ASTRO Private

Long time reader, Frist time posting.

Frist let me start by saying that I have been using Turtle Beach's headphone for over two years now. I just bought the 800x last week and i'm having trouble with the microphone voice chat. I'm thinking about returning them to get the new A50 Gen 3 when they release. I heard a lot of good things about the A50 and thinking of joining the Astro family. I wanted to know other peoples opinions about the 800x VS the A50
  2. intimidator13

intimidator13 ASTRO Private

I don't know the 800x specifically, but there's a reason I had no problem laying down $300 for the A50's. they are hands down the best.
    I've gamed on PC & console and have had many headsets over the decades. Only one close to comfort were my Logitech's.
    true surround, great sound, easy to use.
  3. SandmaN

SandmaN ASTRO Private

I recently tested the Turtle Beach 800X headset and had the same issues with the microphone voice chat - it's especially difficult if not impossible to get it working on PC. I had a 1st gen A50 headset which I loved to death for about 3 years, but I'm ready to upgrade. In the last month I've tested about a dozen or so headsets and almost none of them come close to the overall quality of the A50.

Compared to the A50 the TB 800X is good, but the A50 stands head and shoulders above the 800X in overall sound quality, comfort, and ease of use. With all that the new gen 3 A50 brings to the table I am definitely buying these next.

This sealed it for me right here - enjoy!

4. TheHuman0idTyph00n

Thank you both for the reply's.